Monday, January 22, 2018

The Trustworthy Groom by Cami Checketts -- $0.99 sale


Get The Trustworthy Groom on Amazon for $.99 



A lonely football player, a damaged bride, and the fake marriage that can heal them both. 
 
Hailey Knight has two choices: fall prey to a predator who is out to own her and destroy her football team, or marry a man she’s just met. True, her fake husband can make her quiver with a touch, gets her jokes, and is patience personified, but she knows better than anyone how quickly charm can turn ugly.
Brady Giles has dealt with a sweetheart stalker for two years and has no hope of shaking the annoyance. He steps in to rescue the beautiful and feisty Hailey Knight from a leering idiot and somehow ends up engaged to her. 
The marriage is supposed to help them both out of sticky situations, but instead turns into a media hailstorm with lies and attacks coming from all sides. When Hailey falls in love with her fake husband and danger lurks around every corner, she knows it’s time to run, but Brady has never given up on an impossible battle.  
 
Can these two trust each other or will the media and predators tear them apart?

Find The Trustworthy Groom here.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Falling for a Cowboy by Karen Rock -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Falling for a Cowboy
By Karen Rock

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

...I hope you enjoy this inspiring come-back story brimming with romance and uplifting values that reinforce the importance of overcoming challenges through strength of will and determination, never letting limitations stop you from achieving your dreams and how friendship is the strongest foundation upon which true and lasting love is built. Other themes include: disabilities, respect, self-worth and faith.

— Karen


I Am A Reader - Excerpt
But here—here she couldn’t hide from it. In the real world, her vision blossomed into a bigger problem and she shrunk into someone incompetent, dependent, weak, a person she never wanted to be.

“I can handle a fifteen-hundred-pound stallion at fifty miles an hour. But this—I can’t deal with this. What am I supposed to do with my life?”

She’d been planning on trying out for the ERA Premier tour team again at their end-of-summer qualifiers. Now she’d never be good enough to ride with them.

Or ride at all…

The life she’d always wanted ended before it’d even started, and she had no contingency plan.



"This is a feel good, heart warming story. . . . Also reading best friends Jared and Amberley grow even closer was beautiful. I would highly recommend this one because you have the feel good story, but also the story of two feuding families going on is also intriguing."


“I’ll do it!” The rail had to be on the lowest setting, six inches above the ground. No challenge at all. She could do it blindfolded.

Or legally blind.

Amberley set her jaw, wheeled Harley away and brought him into a trot that carried her swiftly to the blurred shape of the gate. She couldn’t quite judge the height, or her proximity, just yet. Unease fluttered in her belly. How many paces to it? Time to jump?

Relying on instinct, she squeezed Harley’s sides at the right moment, but he balked. She flew over his head and landed flat on her back. At the children’s cries, she struggled to sit up, but the fall had knocked the wind out of her.



"The author’s writing flows smoothly and she has crafted a beautiful story with more complexity than most romances. A beautiful Colorado setting, feuding families, career choices, children with disabilities, and a very special horse named Harley make for a deeply satisfying read. . .

Falling for a Cowboy is a thoroughly entertaining read that touches the heart."


"I loved the name Amberley and her character. It would be so hard to lose your eyesight. The 2nd in the series and definitely a good series. Such an inspiring book with Amberley and Jared overcoming her blindness and with the horse therapy program for children with disabilities."

Heidi Reads... - Excerpt

“Amberley.” Jared breathed her name like an invocation, barely breaking their kiss.

“Hmm?” She threaded her fingers his crisp hair, unable to open her eyes.

His lips slid across her jaw, nibbling her earlobe. “You’re beautiful, babe.”

Babe?

He called all of his girls babe. Especially when he couldn’t remember their names.

Tension locked up every inch of her. She propped an eye open. Then the other. Despite her lack of vision, she could see this disastrous moment clearly. In minutes, he’d gone from treating her like a child to seducing her like one of his flings. And she was neither.

Remembrancy - Review

"In Falling for a Cowboy, Karen Rock peels back the layers of fear and helplessness that come from Amberley’s loss of sight. She also shows readers the true meaning of friendship—encouragement, and support when one is at their lowest point, standing ready to do anything to assist, pushing the right buttons to motivate from fear, and calling each other out when necessary."

Brooke Blogs - Excerpt

“Just because he lost his wings doesn’t mean he’s not a Pegasus anymore.” Jared helped Emily off the saddle and down the stairs.

Emily threw her arms around Harley’s neck. “You’re a real Pegasus, Harley. You are.”

Harley’s head bobbed in a flash of black and silver, and Amberley smiled through the tears that sprang to her eyes.

Jared was right. Wings didn’t make a Pegasus. Working limbs, perfect eyesight…they didn’t make a human either. What we imagined and strived to be counted. Real strength rooted itself inside, where it mattered most.

I Love Romance - Review

"Amberley is the kind of heroine you hope to find, but never knew you were searching for. Jared is a walking dream that steps from a imaginative figure into real life. Falling for a Cowboy blends heartbreaking realism with courageously inspiring characters. . . . Falling for a Cowboy is phenomenally fascinating storytelling."


"I'm loving this Rocky Mountain Cowboys series! . .

I loved the inclusion of children with physical challenges as Amberley struggled to come to grips with her new challenges and the message that with the right help and love we can all do amazing things. Helping others brings joy and this book brought this out. There were lots of feel good moments to be had in this story."


Her blond brows lowered and met over the straight bridge of her nose. “I should have bought out your share.”

“Glad you didn’t.”

An exasperated noise escaped her pale lips. “I trusted you.”

“Trusting me is the smartest thing you can do, darlin’.”

“Don’t call me that!”

Her vehement tone caught him off guard. He called lots of woman darlin’. Why did she act like it meant something?

Because you mean it when you say it to her, a voice said inside him.


"Karen Rock does a really amazing job at bringing these two broken characters together in a way that gives them strength in many facets. She's a very good storyteller and I felt right at home in Carbondale, Colorado and could picture the rodeo circuit/life pretty vividly. I loved seeing more of the characters from her previous books and I can't wait to read more about this family, as each book is centered on one of the siblings."


“Amberley, please,” Jared pleaded, his voice as raw as a bruise. “I’ve got two left feet and a swollen tongue around you lately. Nothing I say or do comes out right. I don’t know if we’re coming or going, but I know I want to find out. Give me a chance.”

He framed her face with his hands then leaned over and kissed her. Thoroughly, sweetly, wonderfully. For a moment, everything stilled: her breath, movement, her heart. The world, possibly.

“No!” She shoved his chest.

“No?” His eyelashes blinked rapidly, brushing against her temple.

“It’s not that easy.” Her breathing slowly returned to normal, though her heart still pumped overtime. “You don’t get to decide when and where and how.”

“But I thought…”

“If you want me, you’re going to have to work for me.”



"This is the perfect story! I love the Cade family and if I could, I'd like to join them. This book has a wonderful story about overcoming hardships and roadblocks in our lives and about true friendships...

I highly recommend this book to other readers. I can't wait to read another story about the Cade family."


" It’s uplifting and inspirational to anyone who has ever felt less than. A well-built plot with many familiar characters. The storyline drug a bit in the beginning as a lot of inner thoughts were being portrayed rather than dialogue, but overall an enjoyable, uplifting read!"


“What was my time?” she gasped.

“Wasn’t clocking you.”

“Will you next time?”

“So, you’re not quitting?”

“Never!” She laughed, exhilarated, pumped with enough adrenaline to lift her right off this saddle and into the sky. “Let’s go again.”


"I was hooked from the beginning of Falling for a Cowboy and did not want to put it down until I had the whole thing read. Such a fabulous and heartwarming story. I just can not put into words how much I enjoyed it and how sad I was having to tell Amberley and Jared goodbye.

I would give it 100 stars if I could.

Highly recommended."


"...I knew this series would be fine reading the books just on there own. This is a sweet second chance story that packs an emotional punch. . .

I found this to be a sweet and touching story. I loved the characters and really liked the other Cades."


“Sweetheart.”

That single word sent a tremor through her skin. “Sweetheart?”

“You don’t like darlin’.” She could feel the smile in his voice and wondered if her heart might explode in her chest.

“You’ve never called me sweetheart before.”

Jared’s strong hands cupped her shoulders, and he released a breath. “Plenty of times. Just not out loud.”


"Falling For a Cowboy by Karen Rock is the second book in The Rocky Mountain Cowboys series. This series is about the Cade family. You will absolutely adore them. Jared is a heartbreaker without even trying and Amberley is his strong willed best friend. This is a friends to lover romance and it is amazing."


“Why do it?”

“Because—because.” She hesitated, stumbling over her usual answer about winning. Competing had stopped being about scoring the top spot, she realized. It was about something bigger than that—inspiring herself and others like Dean and the rest of the Spirit Ranch kids. “Because it’s better than sitting home and wishing I’d tried.”

“Even if you don’t win?”

“Just giving it my best means I’ve already won,” she said, the words rushing from some deep part of her. The truth. Showing up for competitions meant she was someone, not nothing like her father would have said.

Sorry, Daddy, but I don’t believe I’m nothing. And I don’t believe you’d think that either. You promised I’d be okay after you passed. You told me I was strong.


"It won’t take many paragraphs for you to fall in love with Falling For a Cowboy by Karen Rock. A toe-curlingly swoony cowboy. A strong heroine. Best friends to more. Adorable kids. A sweet horse. And moments to cheer proudly like any good sports-rags-to-riches story provides. Oh, and did I mention the yummy kisses? (Whew… still fanning) The Cade family continues to be entertaining and inspiring, and I think Karen Rock gets better with each new book. Excited for the next one!"

And don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Falling for a Cowboy
(Rocky Mountain Cowboys #2)
by Karen Rock
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 pages
January 1st 2018 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Doesn’t he get that she’s blind?

Barrel racer Amberley James wants to join the premier rodeo circuit more than anything, but she faces the ultimate hurdle when she loses her eyesight to a rare genetic condition. All she’d ever wanted seems out of reach. Giving up is the only option…until her best friend and local hero Jared Cade steps in. The last thing she wants is Jared’s help. But his persistence at encouraging her to get back in the saddle is ridiculously annoying. And undeniably inspiring…

GoodreadsAmazonB&NKoboHarlequin
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Other Books in the Series

Christmas at Cade Ranch
(Rocky Mountain Cowboys #1)
by Karen Rock
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 384 pages
November 7th 2017 by Harlequin Heartwarming

The Christmas they never had.

James Cade has one priority: keep the family ranch running smoothly in the wake of his younger brother's death. With Jesse's ex, Sofia Gallardo, and her young son, Javi, stranded at Cade Ranch over Christmas, this task just got a lot harder. The longer Sofia and Javi stay, the harder it is to imagine the ranch without them. James couldn't save his brother from his inner demons, but he can give his nephew a secure future. Maybe more—if he can figure out how to trust Sofia, and stop feeling like he's betraying Jesse. Because trying to stop thinking about beautiful, determined Sofia is impossible.


About the Author

In a quest to provide her ELA students with quality reading material, educator Karen Rock read everything out there and couldn't wait to add her voice to the genre. In addition to her work as a Young Adult romance novelist, she's now an author for Harlequin's Heartwarming line and thrilled to pen stories that moms can share with their teenage daughters. She's loved Harlequin books since she spent summers going through her grandmother's Presents books that she passed along in paper grocery bags each year. As half of the writing duo J.K. Rock, Karen also pens young adult romance. When she's not busy writing, Karen enjoys scouring estate sales for vintage books, cooking her grandmother's family recipes, reinventing her gardens to suit her moods and occasionally rescuing local wildlife from neighborhood cats. She lives in the Adirondack Mountain region with her husband, her very appreciated beta-reader daughter, and two Cavalier King cocker spaniels, who have yet to understand the concept of "fetch" though they know a lot about love. For more information about Karen's upcoming books, check out her website.

WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterTumblrPinterest

Other Heartwarming Books by the Author


Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon gift card along with print copies of HIS KIND OF COWGIRL, A COWBOY TO KEEP, and CHRISTMAS AT CADE RANCH by Karen Rock
- US Only
- Ends January 24th

Grab Our Button!

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman -- Grand Finale

On tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Boneseeker
by Brynn Chapman

The BONESEEKER CHRONICLES is a four book series, following the life, love and misadventures of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson’s children. We hope you enjoyed learning about them! If you missed any of the stops you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

BONESEEKER, is book one of the four book series, chronicling the adventures and love story of Arabella Holmes and Henry Watson. . .

All my books plop my characters into real, strange anomalies and events that happened once upon a time. Bella appeared in my imagination fully formed, and Henry wasn't long to follow her. As is his way...

I hope you enjoy reading it, and spending time in their company as much as I do.

— Brynn


5. What do you want readers to take away from reading Boneseeker?

I am a character writer. If you remember my people, find yourself thinking about them, wondering what will happen to them—well that’s the goal. As a copious reader myself, that was always my litmus test of the writer’s worth.


"Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman is compelling and intriguing. The familiarity of Holmes and Watson makes way for the next generation, and Bella & Henry hold their own quite nicely. While some aspects of the plot could have been a little tighter, overall this is an enjoyable read that is perfect for a chilly winter’s night."

Wishful Endings - A Study in Sensory

(Get it—instead of a Study in Scarlet)

Bella has been with me so long now, I honestly can’t recall when the idea formulated. I believe it was while watching Robert Downey Jr.’s interpretation of Sherlock Holmes. There are a number of scenes in the movie which were “Ah-ha” moments for me…About Holmes’s brilliance, and his inability to play well with others.

I lecture about sensory processing—which in case you have never heard of it, here is a definition...


"For a person who doesn’t typically read mystery books I really enjoyed Brynn Chapman’s Boneseeker. I remember when I was little I read the entire Nancy Drew series but this book is much more complex than those tween novels. . .

Filled with violence, suspense and questions, this books makes a great read. . .

I recommend this novel for mystery and historical fiction lovers aged 16 and up as you not only get to sort through clues but you also get a taste of history in the mix."

YA/NA Book Divas - Excerpt

“Human footprints, preserved in rock, measuring thirty-three inches, with six toes.”

“I must see your notes.”

My eyes open wide, my hand shooting to my hip. “I don’t have notes.”

“Of course you don’t.” He sighs. “Would you write some for me?”

I walk back to the bed and sit. “I suppose.”

“We lesser mortals appreciate notes.

It's All About the Romance - Holmes and Watson, Like Father, like son…and daughter

For the record, I have, to date, read 90 percent of the Sherlock Holmes canon—and his predecessors, Wilkie Collins et al.

The new Sherlock Holmes characters in the recent films, however, ignited a fire in my brain. The following is from my author’s notes in the Book, BONESEEKER...

Colorimetry - Excerpt

“This! This is what I mean, Earnest. She”—he jabs an accusing finger at Arabella—“she is impulsive and arrogant and unnatural. She should not be considered for such an important expedition. A woman is much better suited for curation.”

Father steps forward, staring Stygian full-on despite the fact he’s a head taller. “Sir. You’ve forgotten innovative and cunning and possesses her father’s talent for ciphering and detection. Is this expedition not about bones?”

“Of course.”

“I dare venture no one on this eastern seaboard could match Miss Holmes’s knowledge of bones.”

Rockin' Book Reviews - She Blinded Me with Science


This is a hashtag I often use when discussing BONESEEKER. I am an ardent student of science.

I have dissected cadavers, dug through troughs of arms and legs at University, to ensure your specimen was not missing any muscles so as to miss them on the practical exam. I have witnessed a craniotomy (post mortem), plastic surgeries, among others.

I have toured asylums, and have an ongoing obsession with historical medicine, when did what occur, and how?


I hear a bawdy laugh, and I wrench my eyes away from her earnest gaze, scanning the dance hall. I scan over the myriad of colors and gowns and faces and finally, I see her. My heartbeat bombards my ribcage. My hands are sweating. While they are in Priscilla’s hands.

This is not normal. Not for me, anyway. I am dumbstruck. Arabella is so lovely I can scarcely breathe.

She stands, hesitating at the top of the stairs, undoubtedly searching the crowd for familiar faces.


"It is interesting to read with the children of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. John Watson. Like their fathers, Arabella Holmes and Henry Watson are quite the team. The two sure do find themselves in quite a suspense filled adventure. There are some action-packed scenes that kept me on the edge of my seat, making me want to continue to turn the pages. . .

I can not wait to see what happens next."


"Personally I really enjoyed reading the book, especially the portrayal of how it is to have anxiety and Asperger's and it was a bit refreshing that the love story between Arabella and Henry was downplayed a bit (no offence to YA authors, but sometimes love stories take up too much space in a book)."

SilverWoodSketches - Review & Excerpt

"Bonseeker is so layered and complex but very accessible to old and new fans of historical fiction. An absolute must-read for fans of strong corset-wearing heroines and the requisite danger of the best Holmes mystery."

“For the love of all that’s holy, Henry. That’s almost like being married to Holmes.” He gives a little shudder.

“I daresay you’re one to talk. For years, you chose a life with Holmes over matrimony, so that argument is full of holes. Do as I say, not as I do?”

Father’s face softens, and he lifts a placating hand. “I love Arabella too, you know that. But, be reasonable. She doesn’t fit into polite society.”

“Neither does Holmes and he’s almost legendary now.”

“She is unruly, headstrong, and will never, ever listen.”

“I know. She fascinates me.”



Maria: What type of research did you have to do for this novel?

I do a copious amount of research for every novel. For BONESEEKER, I expanded my library and study of Forensic Anthropology books ( I do have an anthropology minor), and also made a study of historical non-fiction resources on murders and relevant science beliefs, and societies of the time period. The science of phrenology, for instance, was very much alive and en vogue in 1910.

Bookworm Lisa - Review

"This book contains elements that I love... suspense, Nephilim, mystery, and a little romance. I also love that the characters are children of two beloved literary characters, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. . .

If you love Sherlock Holmes, mystery, and a little of the paranormal. You should definitely give this book a try."

And don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Boneseeker
(The Boneseeker Chronicles #1)
by Brynn Chapman
Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 213 pages
January 10th 2018 by The Wild Rose Press, Inc

Aspiring scientist Arabella Holmes doesn't fit the role of a 1900s lady. Her father, Sherlock, landed her a position at the Mütter Museum to pursue her dream of becoming a purveyor of abnormal science, or what her father calls a "Boneseeker."

Henry Watson’s two-fold mission at the Mütter Museum is to join their team of forensic anthropologists in unearthing unusual antiquities and to watch over Arabella. If only he could get her to speak to him, instead of hurling knives in his general direction. Assigned to a most secret expedition to investigate a mysterious skeletal hand discovered in upstate New York, Arabella and Henry are soon caught in a scientific debate, and the search for the truth may have deadly consequences for those involved.

Are the bones from a Neanderthal? Or are they living proof of fallen angels known as Nephilim?

Watson and Holmes must put aside their differences, trust their instincts, and rely on one another to survive to uncover the truth.

*This is a new version of a previously published edition

Praise for BONESEEKER:

Winner of the New Jersey Romance Writers Golden Leaf Contest

"Creative, meticulously researched, and terrific fun!"  ~Grace Burrowes, NY Times Best Selling Author

"The characters, the setting, the descriptions and the mysteries and relationships all work together seamlessly to create a truly wonderful story that I completely adored." ~Best Books Ever Blog

"The settings are intriguing and the way they are described make you feel as if you are immersed in the story. I could feel the gloom and damp. That is rare in so many books! Boneseeker is a book I highly recommend, and I give it 5 stars!" ~Christy's Cozy Corners Blog

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleWild Rose Press
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

About the Author


Born and raised in western Pennsylvania, Brynn Chapman is the daughter of two teachers. Her writing reflects her passions: science, history and love--not necessarily in that order. In real life, the geek gene runs strong in her family, as does the Asperger's syndrome. Her writing reflects her experience as a pediatric therapist and her interactions with society's downtrodden. In fiction, she's a strong believer in underdogs and happily-ever-afters. Her ancestry tree claims she's a descendant of the House of Stuart.


Other Books by the Author

The Requiem Red

Tour Giveaway


GIVEAWAY #1: To enter to win a BONESEEKER audiobook and the pictured charm necklace ("And though she be but little, she is fierce." - Shakespeare), send a copy of your kindle purchase of BONESEEKER to publicity.brynnchapman@gmail.com. US only.

GIVEAWAY #2: To enter to win a BONESEEKER ebook and a $10 Amazon Gift Card, enter via the Rafflecopter below. Open internationally. Ends January 24th.

Grab Our Button!

Friday, January 19, 2018

#Starstruck by Sariah Wilson -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

#Starstruck

Author: Sariah Wilson

Publisher:

Published: January 16, 2017

ISBN:154366153X

Paperback/ebook: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a PDF from the author. All opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

“You’ve done better.”
With one uncharacteristically sassy tweet to her longtime celebrity crush, Zoe Miller’s life turns upside down. Ultrahot A-lister Chase Covington doesn’t just respond to Zoe’s tweet, he does the unthinkable: he messages Zoe directly. Now she must decide between walking away or meeting her crush in person.
Chase knows better than to trust anyone from the Internet, but Zoe’s saucy challenge has totally caught his interest—and her girl-next-door personality is keeping it. He’s been burned enough to know he needs to keep his heart close. But his feelings for Zoe might be a lot more than just an online flirtation. He just has to convince her
When the press gets wind of Zoe and Chase’s secret relationship, their romance turns into tabloid headlines. Will they be able to hold on to their Hollywood love story?
My Review
#Starstruck is another hit for this talented author. I love how she writes. There are so many times when I would smile because of the clever and skillful writing. I instantly loved this book and its characters.  Zoe is an absolute doll. She is smart, witty, kind and funny. Chase, well, he is many things. I loved the author's descriptions of him and what Zoe thought of him. I think I have a new favorite book boyfriend. Chase is pretty much perfect. I loved Chase and Zoe together. I appreciated how they took their time getting to know each other and I adored their Tweets. The last Tweet of the book made me cry! Chase would see Zoe at her most vulnerable times (covered in puke and all) and it didn't matter to him. Their Disneyland date was my absolute favorite. That is my all-time dream, except the being chased by paparazzi part. This book has humor, heart, some amazing kissing and will leave you with a huge smile on your face. I just loved it.
5 out of 5 stars! 
#Starstruck Amazon buy link: Kindle / Paperback
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Veins of Gold by Charlie N. Holmberg -- Cover reveal


Cover Reveal for VEINS OF GOLD by Charlie N. Holmberg

Release date: July 17, 2018

A new historical fantasy novel from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Charlie N. Holmberg:

VEINS OF GOLD

Desperate to save her siblings from poverty, a young woman discovers magic fueled by gold . . . and a love for the man who wields it.

Abandoned by their father for the gold rush, Gentry and her siblings labor to survive alone in the inhospitable west. When bizarre natural disasters begin wreaking havoc on the land, Gentry discovers a world of magic. Desperate for help, she accepts aid from a mysterious stranger.

Winn not only sees the magic, but controls its hunger by feeding it gold—the very thing Gentry’s father left to acquire. But the earth’s unrest only grows worse, and Gentry’s fear leads her to a terrible choice: marry a wealthy man she does not love, or trust in Winn’s unpredictable power to save her family.

Other Books by Charlie N. Holmberg:
The Paper Magician
The Glass Magician
The Master Magician
The Plastic Magician
Followed by Frost
Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet
The Fifth Doll



Pre-order Amazon paperback
Pre-order Amazon ebook
Add to your Goodreads shelves

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Here is it!


Friday, January 5, 2018

The Eternity Elixir by Frank L. Cole

The Eternity Elixir (Potion Masters #1)

Author: Frank L. Cole

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: January 2nd, 2018

ISBN13: 9781629723587

Paperback: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Twelve-year-old Gordy Stitser is one of the few people who knows the truth about the secret society of potion masters, because not only is Gordy’s mom on the Board of Ruling Elixirists Worldwide (B.R.E.W.), but she has also been training Gordy in the art of potion-making. 

Gordy is a natural, and every day he sneaks down to the basement lab to invent new potions using exotic ingredients like fire ant eggs, porcupine quills, and Bosnian tickling juice.

One afternoon, Gordy receives a mysterious package containing an extremely rare potion known as “The Eternity Elixir.” In the right hands, the Elixir continues to protect society. But in the wrong hands, it could destroy the world as we know it.  

Now, sinister potion masters are on the hunt to steal the Eternity Elixir. It’s up to Gordy, his parents, and his best friends, Max and Adeline, to prevent an all-out potion war.


My review

I knew I would love this book and I did. I have enjoyed every book I read from this author. Frank's writing is very clever and extremely creative and he has proved time and again how talented he is, especially with this book. I can tell by his writing that he has a fantastic sense of humor. I loved the plot of this book and the characters were awesome. The potions and terms used were inventive and highly imaginative. There are many enjoyable twists and turns and fun little seeds of hints that are planted throughout that lead to a great adventure. I loved Gordy. I love smart, creative kids and he definitely fits that bill. All of the characters are so fun and very well written. 

5 out of 5 stars. I can not wait for the next book!

Author links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter 

Purchase links

Hardcover Amazon / ebook Amazon / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Book trailer!




Saturday, December 16, 2017

12 Days of Romance -- Cami Checketts


How to Kiss a Billionaire by Cami Checketts
Sassy meets swoon-worthy in this fast-paced contemporary romance.
Miriam Salisbury escapes to Oregon to avoid a boyfriend who won’t take no for an answer, killing her beloved cat to prove it. When her father sends Clay Browning to protect her, she’s certain he’s lost his mind. As far as she’s concerned Clay’s experience is limited to posing for the camera, charming women, and making fun of her. He’s been teasing her since they were children and she’s never gotten over the way he threw crawdads at her at church picnics.
Clay retired from the military and entered the world of private security. When he gets the call to protect Miriam he’s excited to be around his lifelong crush. As expected, he teases her nonstop and the only thing he takes seriously is her security. He knows she’d never give him a chance and he can’t help but give her a hard time.
After Miriam is dumped in the freezing ocean on a crabbing expedition and Clay saves her from drowning and freezing to death, she takes a second look at her hired gun. But opening up to him is more terrifying than facing her stalker.
As events escalate to a frenzied climax, Miriam and Clay must put aside past grudges in the hope of finding a lasting love for their future.
Purchase your copy here.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *
Praise for series:
“Cami Checketts is an expert at sending a flurry of butterflies straight to the heart! If you love the beach, a dash of suspense, and some toe-curling, swoony romance, then the Billionaire Beach Romance series is definitely for you.” Katie Watkins, Book Reviewer, Katie’s Clean Book Collection
“I LOVE these sweet romances! I love that each of them is a mini escape. You almost feel as though you’ve traveled to a warm destination even though it’s cold and snowy where you live. I love that I can pass them to either my daughter or my grandma and never have any concern about the content. And the characters in these are amazing! I love them all!” Cathy Jeppsen, Book Reviewer, My Book a DayMiriam closed her eyes as Clay’s arms came around her and held her tight.
“Whoa, darling, if I would’ve known I’d get this reception, I would’ve broken into your house years ago.”
Miriam pushed away from him, stumbling from the realization that he hadn’t changed. Clay was a vicious flirt and never took anything seriously. She shoved at his chest, but he didn’t budge. He was real and he was here, and unfortunately for her unsteady nerves, it didn’t look like he was going away. “What are you doing here?” she demanded.
“Your daddy hired me.”
“My daddy … hired you?” She glared at him. “For what? A pinup model?”
He smiled and tilted his head to the side. “I know I look good, but I actually have a few skills in protection too.”
“You do not. All you’ve ever been good at is spending your billions of dollars and getting women to simper at your feet.” She knew he’d been in the military for four years after high school, but after that, he appeared to be the ultimate player. At least, it looked that way in the online photos she’d seen, when she’d googled him. Okay, it was pathetic that she’d googled him, but he was Clay Browning, a.k.a. Miriam’s dream man.
He spread his arms, and she couldn’t help but notice the definition from his forearms and biceps up through his shoulders and chest. Maybe he should find a shirt that wasn’t so … form-fitting. “Hey, I’ve got lots of talents. What can I say?”
Miriam pushed out a huffy breath. “You are not here. This is all some kind of crazy fantasy.”
“I know I’m the stuff fantasies are made of, but I really am here.” He sauntered a step closer, and that spicy cologne made her stomach heat up. “You want to enact some of those fantasies you’ve been having about me?”
She put a hand on his chest to keep him from coming any closer. Those muscles were real. Yikes. She dropped her hand and stepped back. “For one second, just for one, be serious. Why are you here, and how did you get in my house?”
Clay rolled his eyes and folded his arms across his chest. Sheesh. What did he do with biceps that defined? Wrestle bulls?
Focus, Miriam!
“Your daddy called me, said Greg was threatening and stalking you and I had to find you. So I found you, and now I’m here to watch over you.”
Watch over you? She would not survive with this man in the same town, let alone the same house. Her throat was dry and all those daydreams she used to have about him rotated through her mind.
“How did you get in?” she demanded.
“I told you: I have skills.” He smiled and finally admitted, “I was special ops in the Army and I’ve worked in private security since then.”
“You’re being serious now? This isn’t some bull crap line that Clay Browning is giving me?”
He smirked. “You can believe whatever you want, sweetheart.” He took a step closer, and her legs betrayed her by not backing up. “But do believe that I’m here and you I and are going to get real cozy.”
Miriam looked over his gorgeous face. She clenched her trembling hands together and swallowed hard. “I’m not one of your flavors of the week, Clay.”
He leaned in and sniffed her. “Ah. Yeah, I think you are. Vanilla with a hint of chocolate. My favorite flavor this week.”
Author Cami Checketts
Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and reading Bernstein Bears, she gets the chance to write fiction.
Cami graduated from Utah State University with a degree in Exercise Science. She and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn’t snowing, she enjoys swimming, biking, running, and water-skiing.

Also by Cami Checketts

Don’t miss the rest of the Billionaire Beach Romances:
Shadows in the Curtain
Caribbean Rescue
Cozumel Escape
Cancun Getaway
Trusting the Billionaire
Onboard for Love

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/31/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway