Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Stealing Liberty by Jennifer Froelich

Stealing Liberty

Author: Jennifer Froelich

Publisher: Clean Reads

Published: June 13, 2017

ISBN13: 9781621356677

ebook/Paperback

FTC FYI: I received a PDF copy from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school for teens whose parents are branded enemies of the state, he doesn’t expect to find friendship – especially after coming face to face with Riley Paca, a girl who has every reason to hate him.


But when Reed, Riley and a few others start reading the old books they find in tunnels under the school, they begin to question what they are taught about the last days of America and the government that has risen in its place.


Then the government decides to sell the Liberty Bell and Reed and his friends risk everything to steal it – to take back their history and the liberty that has been stolen from them.
 


My Review

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were engaging and written well.  The author does a great job with this fascinating dystopian setting, where there is no longer an America and kids with rebellious parents are sent to a "reconditioning camp".  Forced into hard labor and if you mess up too much, they are shipped to the front lines of war, or killed.  Director Kino was as evil as they come.  I thought the kids were well written.  At first, I wasn't sure how I felt about all the POV changes, but then I started to enjoy them, it was a great way to know the characters and what they were truly going through emotionally and physically.  Reed, Riley, Xoey, Sam all of the characters are believable and true to themselves.  There were parts of the book that I felt were slow and I wanted situations to progress quicker, but I enjoyed what the kids discover and the plots they unravel. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

How to Kiss a Billionaire by Cami Checketts -- Black Friday sale


Purchase your copy here!

Miriam Salisbury escapes to Oregon to avoid a boyfriend who won’t take no for an answer and kills her beloved cat to prove it. When her father sends Clay Browning to protect her, she’s certain he’s lost his mind. As far as she’s concerned Clay’s experience is limited to posing for the camera, charming every woman he meets, and making fun of her. He’s been teasing her since they were children and she’s never gotten over the way he threw crawdads at her at church picnics.

Clay retired from the military and entered the world of private security. When he gets the call to protect Miriam he’s excited to spend time with his lifelong crush. As expected, he teases her nonstop and the only thing he takes seriously is her security. He knows she’d never give him a chance and he can’t help but give her a hard time.
After Miriam is dumped in the freezing ocean on a crabbing expedition and Clay saves her from drowning and freezing to death, she takes a second look at her hired gun. But opening up to him is more terrifying than facing her stalker.
As events escalate to a frenzied climax, Miriam and Clay must put aside past grudges in the hope of finding a lasting love for their future.

How to Kiss a Billionaire is part of the bestselling sweet romance series: Billionaire Beach Romances. The books can be read in any order. All the books are $.99 to celebrate the release of the last book in the series. Thanks for reading! 

Saturday, November 18, 2017

A Family for Christmas by Tara Taylor Quinn -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
A Family for Christmas
By Tara Taylor Quinn

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Welcome to a very very special story in my Where Secrets Are Safe series. If you’ve never been to The Lemonade Stand – please, come in. Visitors to the Stand are transitory so you’ll fit right in with the rest of the current batch of residents, who are also new here. If you’ve been here before, buckle your seat belts because you’re in for a double treat...

Becky on Books - Review

"Oh my goodness, this book…

A Family for Christmas brings together so many threads, both in this series on the whole and this book in particular. There are two main romantic relationships–Cara with Simon and Lila (finally!) with Edward–and two families coming together for Christmas, families that include parents, children, and grandchildren that have been apart for far too long. . .

Once again the romances here are very slow moving, because the characters have so much more to deal with than just finding their ways to romantic HEAs and there aren’t easy fixes for what they have to do–but that just means that when they do get there everything will be that much sweeter."

Harlequin Junkie - Exclusive Interview & Giveaway

Please tell us a little about the characters in your book. As you wrote your protagonist was there anything about them that surprised you?

This story has two heroines and two heroes and that kind of surprised me. I knew the older couple, have known the older heroine for all 16 books in this series, and she surprised me most of all. I’ve always known she had issues, but I didn’t understand them until this book. She showed them to me and made me cry.

The younger heroine – she took me on a journey I did not intend to take, with a topic I had no intention of exploring. But there you go…welcome to my world.


"A healing opportunity! If you read the previous book in this series (For Joy’s Sake), you will quickly pick up on the fact that this is a direct continuation of the on-going plot of that story. . . . None-the-less, I was happy read the completion of this mystery, and I enjoyed Simon & Cara’s relationship a lot!"

Wishful Endings - Review

"A FAMILY FOR CHRISTMAS is a moving story about characters who are trying to rise above their fears and abuse to find love and fulfillment in their lives. Heartbreaking and raw in places, sweet and intimate in others, it is a story that will draw on the reader's heart and drive them to hope for a happily-ever-after ending. Highly recommended to those who like their characters to rise victorious over their struggles—to find that happiness can be for everyone, even those with deep scars."


"I really enjoyed this book. It pulled me in from start to finish. I laughed at times, I found I had tears in my eyes at times. I found myself being pulled into these characters lifes and cheering them on. I will definitely be going back and reading other books from this series."


"A family for Christmas is the thirteenth book in the Where Secrets Are Safe series by Tara Taylor Quinn. . . . Cara and Simon needed more focus on them and not what was happening with Cara's daughter. Overall I enjoyed the read."


"When I read the synopsis of this book, I knew I had to read it. . . . This book provides the true meaning of blood being thicker than water – no matter what, your family will be there for you. An enticing story to be read in front of the fireplace with a cozy blanket."

Harlie's Books - Review

"The reason why this book is pure perfection is the way Ms. Quinn wrapped up all the loose threads that we didn’t know where there. . .

Again, I’m so very sad if this is the last book in the series. I’ve come to love The Lemonade Stand and everything that it stands for. Ms. Quinn has written that rare series that is relevant, relatable, emotional, swoon-worthy, at times raw but in the end of so satisfying."

Don't forget to contribute to a local shelter near you and enter the giveaways
below, if you haven't already. They'll be running until the end of November...


A Family for Christmas
(Where Secrets Are Safe #13)

by Tara Taylor Quinn
Adult Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 384 pages
November 1st 2017 by Harlequin Superromance

A second chance for Joy

While recovering at a remote cabin, Dr. Simon Walsh stumbles across Cara Amos. Injured and left for dead, Cara is harboring dark secrets. Yet Simon can't help falling for his mysterious patient. As her memory returns and her injuries fade under his gentle care, he vows to help her find her missing daughter.

At The Lemonade Stand shelter, managing director Lila McDaniels is helping Cara's estranged father, Edward Mantle, bond with his traumatized granddaughter, Joy. And his feelings extend well beyond gratitude.

Bringing this family together seems impossible… Luckily, Christmas is the season of miracles.


Other Books in the Where Secrets Are Safe Series
(Books released as of August 2017. Each can be read as a standalone.)


About the Author


The author of more than 70 original novels, in twenty languages, Tara Taylor Quinn is a USA Today bestseller with over six million copies sold. A 2015 RITA finalist Tara appears frequently on bestseller lists, including #1 placement on Amazon lists, and multiple showings on the Publisher’s Weekly Bestseller list. She has appeared on national and local TV across the country, including CBS Sunday Morning.

Tara is a supporter of the National Domestic Violence Hotline. If you or someone you know might be a victim of domestic violence in the United States, please contact 1-800-799-7233.

Domestic Violence Shelter Drive


As Tara supports speaking out against domestic violence and supporting those who have been abused, both through her books and in her community, she would love for you to join her in donating items to a shelter in your area. Find out more here.

Tour Giveaways


1ST RAFFLECOPTER:
1 winner will receive ebooks of Where Secrets are Safe series books 1 - 13 (open internationally)
1 winner (per the four tour segments) will receive a $10 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)

2ND RAFFLECOPTER:
1 winner will receive 25,000 Harelquin My Rewards Points, equivalent to 5 books (US and CAN only)
1 winner will receive 5,000 Harelquin My Rewards Points, equivalent to 1 book (US and CAN only)

Both Rafflecopter giveaways end November 30th, 2017

Friday, November 17, 2017

The Darkest Summer by Rebecca J. Greenwood -- Blog Tour

The Darkest Summer

Author: Rebecca J. Greenwood

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: Nov. 14, 2017

ISBN13: 9781462120949

Paperback/ebook: 284 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Lady Cora Winfield's life has always gone according to plan--her mother's plan. That's why Cora is so fascinated when she meets the dark Duke of Blackdell. Knowing his dangerous reputation, Cora's mother flatly forbids the match, and the duke decides to take matters into his own hands. Kidnapped and facing a scandal, Lady Cora must now decide whether love will be her downfall or the beginning of a new plan, one she never dreamed possible.

Set in the stormy summer of 1816, this Regency romance is a retelling of the myth of Hades and Persephone.
 


My Review

I really enjoyed this book. This regency themed book was different than the norm. I instantly loved Cora. I appreciated her knowledge and passion about plants and how that passion was pivotal in some of her decisions about her future. I also loved Adam. He was a wonderful, brooding mystery. I thought it was very well planned of the author to have Cora and Adam acquainted before the abduction (don’t worry, it’s on the back cover:). I kept thinking to myself, how is this going to work out and end up? Good thing I already liked Adam. I enjoyed how Adam and Cora’s relationship developed. Malcolm and Kate were also delights. At times I thought there were too many POV changes. Some were necessary, but some were not. And Cora’s mother was too much at times, but I was very happy with the ending and resolution with the characters.

4 out of 5 stars. I look forward to reading more books from this author!

Enter the Goodreads giveaway! Purchase a Kindle copy for $0.99, only for a limited time.

Author Links

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Purchase Links

Amazon Kindle is only $0.99 for a limited time / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble

About the Author


Rebecca J. Greenwood is an author, artist, and designer with a love of stories, especially Regency romances. She grew up in Texas as the oldest of six and studied visual art with a music minor at Brigham Young University. Rebecca lives in Utah with her husband, where she listens to audiobooks, cooks experimentally, has an interest in alternative health, and constantly has a new project in mind. Visit rebeccajgreenwood.com to experience more of her art, writing, and upcoming projects.


Monday, November 13, 2017

Lies Jane Austen Told Me by Julie Wright -- Blog Tour

Lies Jane Austen Told Me

Author: Julie Wright

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: Nov. 7, 2017

ISBN13: 9781629723426

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Ever since Emma read Pride and Prejudice, she's been in love with Mr. Darcy and has regarded Jane Austen as the expert on all things romantic. So naturally when Emma falls for Blake Hampton and he invites her home to meet his parents, she is positive an engagement is in her future. After all, Blake is a single man in possession of a good fortune, and thus must be in want of a wife.

But when it turns out that what Blake actually wants is more of a hook-up than a honeymoon, Emma is hurt, betrayed, and furious. She throws herself deeper into her work as CMO of Kinetics, the fastest growing gym franchise in the nation. She loves her work, and she's good at it, which is why she bristles when her boss brings in a consultant to help her spearhead the new facilities on the East Coast. Her frustration turns to shock when that consultant turns out to be Blake's younger brother, Lucas.

Emma is determined not to fall for Lucas, but as she gets to know him, she realizes that Lucas is nothing like his brother. He is kind and attentive and spends his time and money caring for the less fortunate.

What she can't understand is why Lucas continues to try to push her back into Blake's arms when he so clearly has fallen as hard for her as she has fallen for him. It isn't until Lucas reveals to Emma that he was adopted into the Hampton family that she begins to understand his loyalty to Blake as well as his devotion to the child April-she is Lucas's biological niece.

Emma opens up to Lucas about the feelings of abandonment she has harbored ever since she was a child and her mother left the family. As she helps Lucas deal with his past demons, she is able to exorcise some of her own.

Realizing that her love life is as complicated as anything Jane Austen could have dreamed up, Emma must find a way to let Blake know that it's time for him to let her go and to let Lucas know it's time for him to love her back.


My Review

This book is an absolute delight from start to finish. Emma is fantastic. She is funny, spunky and very smart. I loved her inner conflict with “Jane” and whether or not Jane Austen has ruined her life. Very cute and clever. I thought the chapter headings were a great addition to the story too. I also loved Lucas and he and Emma had great chemistry. I enjoyed how they got to know each other, pretty much thrown together, as Lucas is hired as a consultant at Emma’s workplace. Emma and Lucas both had challenging childhoods but they both became amazing adults. Towards the end, I thought the addition of April was lovely and how Emma learned a lot about herself and her relationship with Blake. Lucas and Blake’s mother was also a favorite.  The epilogue is absolutely perfect and fits so well with the story. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon paperback / Amazon Kindle / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble


Friday, November 10, 2017

Christmas Secrets by Donna Hatch -- Release spotlight


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Release Celebration for
Christmas Secrets
By Donna Hatch

Donna Hatch is bringing readers some sweet romance this holiday season...

Christmas Secrets
by Donna Hatch
Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 260 Pages
November 9th 2017 by Mirror Lake Press LLC

A stolen Christmas kiss leaves them bewildered and breathless. A charming rogue-turned-vicar, Will wants to prove that he left his rakish days behind him, but an accidental kiss changes all his plans. His secret could bring them together...or divide them forever.

Holly has two Christmas wishes this year; finally earn her mother's approval by gaining the notice of a handsome earl, and learn the identity of the stranger who gave her a heart-shattering kiss...even if that stranger is the resident Christmas ghost.


Exclusive Excerpt

This scene takes place when everyone on Christmas Day takes a turn kissing their spouse or sweetheart underneath the mistletoe ball. Now the group turn to Will and Holly, who have only known each other a few days, and start goading them into sharing a mistletoe kiss... 
“Come now, don’t be shy,” her sister called. “It’s tradition.”
The others called out encouragements.
Apology edged into Will’s uncertain expression. “Do you mind?”
Holly’s palms grew sweaty inside her gloves, and her smile probably came out wobbly. “Who are we to go against tradition?” Did she sound desperate in her desire to kiss him?
Will held out a hand. She placed hers in it and walked at his side to the kissing ball. They stood, hand in hand, facing each other. His neck cloth shifted as he swallowed. He leaned in. Her heart stumbled and her knees shook. She closed her eyes. Aching, she lifted her face. His cinnamon-spiced breath warmed her mouth.
He kissed her cheek.
Stunned, she opened her eyes. The watching guests groaned and some chuckled.
“No, no, that won’t do at all,” Joseph’s voice rang out. “Give her a proper kiss.”
Will froze. That intensity she occasionally saw in him returned. “Holly.” He swallowed again but instead of nervousness, a hunger that sent a flurry of shivers through her overtook his expression. “May I?”
She nodded. It didn’t matter if he saw how much she wanted this, wanted him. Let him know. Let the whole world know.
 He touched her chin, lifted it, and leaned in. Again, she closed her eyes. This time his lips touched hers, pliant and unbelievably gentle. Heat exploded at the contact and shot through her all the way down to her tingling toes. Different from her mystery kiss, this one sang of affection and respect and a deep longing to be accepted. Sweeter, more chaste, more filled with caring, Will’s kiss brought her a level of joy she’d never known. All the world faded away leaving Will and the power of his affection, his touch, his kiss. Every moment of her life seemed to have been designed to bring her to this single, perfect moment of bliss and wholeness.
“Ahem.” Father cleared his throat conspicuously.
Will pulled away all too quickly. A tiny sound of distress caught in Holly’s throat. It was over too soon. But oh, what a glorious kiss!

About the Author


Donna Hatch is the author of the best-selling “Rogue Hearts Series,” and a winner of writing awards such as The Golden Quill and the International Digital Award. A hopeless romantic and adventurer at heart, she discovered her writing passion at the tender age of 8 and has been listening to those voices ever since. She has become a sought-after workshop presenter, and also juggles freelance editing, multiple volunteer positions, and most of all, her six children (seven, counting her husband). A native of Arizona who recently transplanted to the Pacific Northwest, she and her husband of over twenty five years are living proof that there really is a happily ever after.


Tour Giveaway

 

- 1 winner will receive a Mistletoe "Kissing Ball" Ornament, an ebook
of A Christmas Reunion or Mistletoe Magic (winner's choice) and some of Donna's favorite Christmas recipes
- Open to US/CAN only
- Ends November 13th

Grab Our Button!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The Nobleman's Daughter by Jen Geigle Johnson -- Blog tour/giveaway

The Nobleman's Daughter

Author: Jen Geigle Johnson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: November 1, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524404291

Paperback: 272 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

While British high society primps and plays, the impoverished citizens of London languish. But there are those fighting for the freedom of common citizens—including two members of the aristocracy who secretly champion revolution. In the drawing rooms of the upper class, Lady Amanda and Lord Nathaniel flirt and tease with the best of them as she pretends to win every heart in London for sport, and he, to conquer them. But in truth, their flirtation is merely a facade designed to keep their clandestine actions hidden from the ton—and from each other. When Nathaniel presents himself as a potential suitor, the attraction between the two is undeniable—but the faces they portray to the world are not enough to win each other's hearts.

While their crusade for London's poor unites them more deeply than they could imagine, Amanda and Nathaniel struggle to trust one another with their true ideals and identities. But when the call to action leads Amanda into the path of danger, she can only hope that Nathaniel will see through her frivolous pretense. Because now, only the aid of the suitor she loves most—but trusts least—can save her.
 


My Review

I really enjoyed this book and the idea around it.  The characters were well written. I loved Amanda. I loved her passion and her ideals. She didn't care about the consequences of her actions at times and I felt she rushed into some situations without thinking, but she truly wanted to make a difference.  Nathaniel, wow, he was an intriguing and amazing characters and I really loved how the author kept his true motives and true personality a mystery for awhile.  I also enjoyed the POV switches to the villain, to see into his mind and to try to understand why he was doing what he was doing. My heart broke at times for the characters, especially Charlie.  The author does a fantastic job with this story and I look forward to more from this promising author!

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Amazon page

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book

Schedule:





a Rafflecopter giveaway