Wednesday, March 14, 2018

The Protective Warrior by Cami Checketts - $0.99 Release/Giveaway

The Protective Warrior by Cami Checketts
A daughter escaping, a Navy SEAL sent to protect her, and the beautiful island that might prove more dangerous than her father.
Ally, daughter of the Duke of Gunthry, has spent her life terrified of her father and dreams of the day when she can escape his tyrannical rule.
When her mum helps her escape to the beautiful island of Kauai, Ally thinks she’s found paradise and maybe more with the handsome River who keeps crossing her path.
But there are unexpected enemies lurking in the shadows. And no matter how tough River seems, no one can withstand the army her father will send when he discovers her location.
River Duncan is part of an elite security task force of ex-Navy SEALS. Little does he know his first assignment might prove irresistible to resist and protect. When he finds himself falling for the fun-loving Ally he plans to resign his position so they can join forces in their common goal of fighting human trafficking. River has never underestimated the enemy before, but is he fully prepared to protect and love Alexandria Gunthry?
Will River’s protection and Ally’s love be enough to conquer a lifetime of fear and responsibilities? Or will they be forced to give up on their dreams in the face of her sadistic and powerful father?
Praise for The Protective Warrior
I’ve read pretty much every Cami Checketts book, and I think this is my favorite of all time ever!
I absolutely love the way Cami Checketts is able to sweep me away to an exotic location, completely immersing me in the story. She always adds an element of suspense that keeps me on my toes and I was almost looking over my shoulder while hiking the lush trails of Kauai this afternoon.
It doesn’t get any better than this! An excellent read from start to finish! I love this book! Outstanding! One of my all-time favorites!
The Protective Warrior is the perfect balance of sweet romance and on-your-toes suspense. I loved it!
Enter to win the Nani Swimsuit giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

(We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.)

Friday, March 9, 2018

Ashes on the Moor by Sarah M. Eden -- Blog Tour

Ashes on the Moor

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 6, 2018

Paperback: 384 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Evangeline is sent to live in a small mill town in Northern England as a schoolteacher in 1871, she finds herself struggling to fit in with an unfamiliar culture. Raised with the high-class Victorian values and ideals of a sophisticated upbringing, she is unprepared for the poverty she finds in the gritty factory town of Smeatley, where the locals speak with a hard-to-understand Yorkshire accent and struggle to thrive with few resources or opportunities.

Though she has no training as a teacher, she must prove herself successful before her grandfather will release her substantial inheritance to her and allow her to be reunited with her younger sister, the last remaining member of her family after a fever claimed the lives of her parents and brothers.

Evangeline's sudden change in circumstances is complicated when her aunt—a woman who values class distinctions more than her family relationships—forbids her from acknowledging any connection to her or to her grandfather, Mr. Farr—the man who owns nearly the entire town. For the first time in her life, Evangeline is truly alone.

Heartbroken, she turns to the one person in town who has shown her kindness—an Irish brick mason, Dermot, and his son, Ronan. Despite the difference in their classes and backgrounds, Evangeline and Dermot become friends, due in part to her ability to connect with Ronan, whose behavior requires special attention. The boy is uncomfortable around strangers and rarely even speaks to the other children in town. He often fixates on details other people ignore, and he adheres to specific, self-made rules that give his life order and structure; for example, Dermot's coat must be hung on a specific peg next to the door.

Evangeline attempts to prove herself a worthy teacher and earn the respect of her hard-to-understand students. Determined to find a way to introduce them to "proper English" while still honoring their unique language and culture, she enlists the help of a local family to write down familiar stories in the Yorkshire vernacular. Because of her efforts, the students and their families warm to Evangeline and she continues to look for ways to give the children a chance to become more than factory workers in the local cotton mill.

When the town learns of her upper-class status, Evangeline must work twice as hard to win back their trust--especially Dermot's. In the end, Evangeline and Dermot discover that, even though they come from different social spheres, together they can overcome social prejudices, make a positive difference in the lives of even the humblest people, and enjoy the strength that comes when two hearts find each other.

Ashes on the Moor is the inspiring love story of one Victorian woman's courage to fight against all odds, and the man whose quiet strength gives her the confidence to keep trying.

My review

Ashes on the Moor is another beautiful story told by a brilliant author. I love Sarah Eden's books. She has an expert way of telling a story. The author created a perfectly subtle way of explaining the different dialects to the reader, all while keeping the story and characters flowing. The reader was learning Smeatley's way of speaking along with Evangeline. I appreciated that. I marveled at the detailed setting and the depth and growth of characters. Right away, the reader is caught up in the hardships of Evangeline and Lucy's sad beginning. I loved how Evangeline pulled herself up and did what had to be done. Dermot and Ronan were also delightful characters. Ronan had a special place in my heart. I absolutely loved this book. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Author links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Beneath the Bellemont Sky - Ranee S. Clark -- Blog Tour

Beneath the Bellemont Sky

Author: Ranee S. Clark

Publisher: Covenant

Published: March 2018

ISBN13: 9781524402785

Paperback: 193 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

As WWII draws to a close, war widow Vera Larsen Trumbell knows all too well the sacrifices of those left on the home front. Working on her family's farm has sustained Vera and her young children, but she now yearns for a sense of normalcy. The end of the war has been bittersweet for the Larsen clan as they and the residents of their small Wyoming town continue to pick up the pieces of their former lives.

Navigating the complexities of a postwar world, Vera and her family face the changing ideals swirling around them. From rising controversy surrounding women's presence in the workplace to the town's cold reception of the newest member of the family—a beautiful French freedom fighter—the American dream of days gone by has been thrown off balance. Even Vera's own life is set spinning when, despite her better judgment, she feels a growing attraction for the brooding and mysterious local schoolteacher.

As the Larsen family and their neighbors tread on thorny territory, will the people of this small town find the strength to embrace an unfamiliar and extraordinary future?

My review

I really enjoyed this book. It was different than I expected, in a wonderful way. I instantly felt that I was a part of the Larsen family and the wonderful community of Bellemont. This is a lovely story about World War II and it shows how people picked up their lives after the war was over. I loved how the Larsen women ran the farm and kept it up while the men were away. I also loved how Emily (Sam's fiance) wanted to have a job outside the home. This book showed all those different views. I loved how the story jumped from character to character. The story is told quite differently and I really loved that. Not only is the story told about the Larsen siblings, but a friend of Vera's as well. Her story made me smile. I did want a little more with Vera's and Dominick's relationship, but I really liked them both as characters. Dominick had issues to overcome but he set a fine example to the town regarding a certain character. Josette (Andrew's wife) was also a favorite. Even though they had smaller parts in the book, Vera's parents were wonderful.  

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads / Twitter / Website

Purchase links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 26, 2018

Love's Journey Home by Julie Coulter Bellon -- Blog Tour

Love's Journey Home (Lincoln Love Stories #2)

Author: Julie Coulter Bellon

Publisher: Stone Hall Books

ebook/paperback: 224 pages


FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Olivia Dalton has a reputation in the DA’s office—tough, thorough, and fierce when she’s closing a case. Those skills are essential in the courtroom, but not in the relationship department—until Mick Donovan crosses her path. Everyone thinks he’s a player, but when an unexpected situation arises, she glimpses an honorable man instead. Olivia is drawn to him, but he pushes her away, unable to shake the past that still haunts him.

Mick Donovan learned at a young age never to let anyone close because those you love never stay. Keeping people at arms-length has never been hard for him—until he meets Olivia Dalton. Mick is caught up in a case she’s prosecuting, and he can’t deny his attraction to her, but when she uncovers the past he’s kept carefully hidden, he’s sure she’ll turn away. Yet, even with all his secrets in the open, Olivia reaches out. Can he let his guard down long enough to let her in and take a chance on love?

My Review

I love Julie Bellon's books! I start her books and I feel I already know the characters. She writes with care and attention to detail. I enjoyed the small town setting. Olivia and Mick are fantastic characters. I instantly liked Mick. He is caring and helpful, yet misunderstood by many. His past is a sad one. Olivia is smart and tough. They both have a soft spot for a little boy that needed their help. I really enjoyed this book. Their relationship developed gradually and with care, which I appreciated. Both Mick and Olivia had their own issues they needed to work out. I did feel the story was missing that "conflict" between the characters, but the book is an easy, enjoyably sweet read. 

4 out of 5 stars. I loved how the author had foster care in the book. It was handled well, showing up and down sides. Mostly the up sides of good people helping out kids in need. 

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback 

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

The Traitor's Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

I am giving away an ARC of The Traitor's Game (US ONLY) 

The Traitor's Game

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Publisher: Scholastic

Publish Date: Feb. 27, 2018

ISBN13: 9781338045390

Hardcover: 400 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Nothing is as it seems in the kingdom of Antora. Kestra Dallisor has spent three years in exile in the Lava Fields, but that won't stop her from being drawn back into her father's palace politics. He's the right hand man of the cruel king, Lord Endrick, which makes Kestra a valuable bargaining chip. A group of rebels knows this all too well -- and they snatch Kestra from her carriage as she reluctantly travels home.The kidnappers want her to retrieve the lost Olden Blade, the only object that can destroy the immortal king, but Kestra is not the obedient captive they expected. Simon, one of her kidnappers, will have his hands full as Kestra tries to foil their plot, by force, cunning, or any means necessary. As motives shift and secrets emerge, both will have to decide what -- and who -- it is they're fighting for.

Check out the book trailer!

My Review

Jennifer A. Nielsen is easily one of my favorite authors and she has worked her magic again with this book. The Traitor's Game is absolutely amazing. The story is fast-paced, action packed, with a touch of romance. Kestra is a tough, smart heroine whose story will leave you guessing until the last page. She is a fantastic character. She is so brave and cunning. I appreciate strong characters like her. I also loved Simon and the point of view changes between him and Kestra were perfect for the story. The twists and turns were simply brilliant and I would catch myself talking out loud, trying to work things the amazing plot. Lord Endrick is evil to the core, along with other characters, that I don't want to spoil. There are many with something to gain with finding the lost Olden Blade and it's an adventure you won't want to miss. Now the agony of waiting for book 2!

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links - Pre order your copy today, or enter to win below

Amazon ebook /Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Can Dreams Come True by Krysten Lindsay Hager -- Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal for Can Dreams Come True? (Book One of the Cecily Taylor Series) 
by Krysten Lindsay Hager
Contemporary YA fiction

Cecily has always had a huge crush on singer Andrew Holiday and she wants to be an actress, so she tags along when her friend auditions for his new video. However, the director isn't
looking for an actress, but rather the girl next door—and so is Andrew. Cecily gets a part in the video and all of Andrew’s attention on the set. Her friend begins to see red and Cecily’s boyfriend is seeing
green—as in major jealousy. A misunderstanding leaves Cecily and her boyfriend on the outs and
Andrew hopes to pick up the pieces as he’s looking for someone more stable in his life than the models he’s dated. Soon Cecily begins to realize Andrew understands her more than her small-town boyfriend—but can her perfect love match really be her favorite rock star?

Pre-order the book now on Amazon
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

The book officially releases in ebook and paperback on March 20th .

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Krysten Lindsay Hager writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends...Forever?, Next Door to a Star,  Landry in Like, Competing with the Star (The Star Series: Book 2) and Dating the It Guy. True Colors, won the Readers Favorite award for best preteen book and the Dayton Book Expo Bestseller Award for children/teens. Competing with the Star is a Readers' Favorite Book Award Finalist.

Krysten's work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Bellbrook Times, Springfield News-Sun, Grand Blanc View, Dayton Daily News and on the talk show Living Dayton.

Cover art work done by Cora Graphics for Clean Reads.

Monday, February 19, 2018

A Pirate at Pembroke by Danielle Thorne -- Kindle Scout/Giveaway

Danielle Thorne’s book A Pirate at Pembroke is up for nomination in the Kindle Scout Contest.
Please vote for her book!
Nominate here! All you need is an Amazon account.
If Kindle Scout selects A Pirate at Pembroke for publication you’ll get a copy of the book for free!
Enter the giveaway below!

A Pirate at Pembroke by Danielle Thorne
A Jane Austen-inspired Pirate Romance
Sophie Crestwood is never going to catch a husband, and she isn’t even sure she wants one. Her father is a gossip, her mother always has her nose in a book, and little Jack has shamefully been dismissed from boarding school. Worst of all, a pirate moves next door into Pembroke Hall!
When Sophie’s sent to a matchmaking party at a neighboring estate, the pirate from Pembroke arrives and distracts everyone from the summer festivities. Unguarded, her feelings about the mysterious Captain Murdock bloom into a trusted friendship that Sophie fears may come to mean much more than anyone would ever suspect. Keeping company with a reputed pirate is one thing but falling in love with him could ruin the eccentric Crestwood family for good.

The sad sonata continued its siren’s call. It echoed a passionate and haunting melody, just like the dark halls of Pembroke with its soiled paintings of aristocrats from long ago. Sophie examined the chamber doors through the gloom and decided the door to the second room on the left was slightly ajar with a dim light shimmering around it. She moved in silence to the small gap and caught her breath.
Captain Murdock stood in front of a languid fire burning beneath a marble mantel. One bare foot was balanced on a low, milking stool nestled up against a heavy, velvet-covered chair. The other kept time on the floor. With his cane leaning against the fireplace, Murdock stood balanced on his own. In his hands, a violin tucked underneath his chin swayed. It moved in time with his body as he performed a strange dance to the music. His profile in the firelight was sharp and clear. He stood slender and tall. In these private bedchambers, half-dressed in loose buckskin breeches and an untucked shirt open at the neck, he did not seem as rigid and menacing as before. From his dreamy stare, his thoughts were somewhere inside the flickering blue and orange flames. The reflection of the firelight made his pale eyes glow.
Sophie noticed his hair was undone. It hung far past his neck, with slight waves resting on his broad upper back on either side of his shoulders. She put a hand to her mouth realizing it had fallen open, and at the same time, that it was scandalous to spy on her host. She swallowed and stepped away. The music stopped in mid-cry. Her heart jumped in her chest, and for a brief pause, the only sound to be heard was her own loud breathing. She stepped back and pivoted on her heel.
Horrified he might have felt her examination, she strode down the rug-lined hallway as quietly as she could, but each footfall sounded like muffled thunder as she hurried back to the stairs. She reached the banister and slipped down the first step, but her shift snagged on something, and she spun about to free it.
Captain Murdock stood behind her, silent. He held a handful of her shift in his fist. She had not snagged it after all. Rather, he had snagged her. She jerked in surprise, but his hold kept her from falling backward and tumbling down the stairs. His other hand trembled as it balanced precariously on a carved dragon head at the top of his cane.
“What do you think you are doing?”
“I… I heard music and followed it.”
His eyes blazed with accusation, and it unnerved her.
“I’m so sorry,” she said in a choking voice. Her nose tingled again. She touched it with her fingers to make it stop.
“It’s not possible you heard music from all the way down in your room.”
Sophie took a nervous breath. He stood there, one step above her like a giant, her bedclothes gripped in his hand so tight it shook. She hadn’t heard him shuffle down the hall after her. He moved as silent as a ghost when he wanted — even with a cane. She found the courage to meet his penetrating gaze. “I did hear something from my room. Then I was in the hall.”
Captain Murdock waited for a long pause, while the dust they had stirred up in the rugs pirouetted in the air and into Sophie’s eyes and nose. “You should not be out of bed,” he said.
Sophie swallowed down her frightened apprehension. She tried to beg his pardon, but her lungs failed her, and she coughed in reflex. She covered her mouth with her fingers. “I’m so sorry,” she repeated between them, her cheeks hot with humiliation. She stared at the fistful of her garments he’d snatched, aware his eyes examined her from her straight, waist-length hair down to her naked ankles. With a jerk, he dropped her shift like it burned his hand.
“Go to bed,” he said in a quiet voice.
Sophie’s nose had not quit tingling and itching. “Yes, sir,” she said at once, but not soon enough to keep a sneeze from erupting. It came so fast and without warning, she had no chance to catch it before it doused him with all her rejection.
Horrified, she stumbled down the next step, thankful the old handrail held fast. When she glanced back, he was wiping off his shirt with a look of disgust.

a Rafflecopter giveaway