Saturday, December 16, 2017

12 Days of Romance -- Cami Checketts


How to Kiss a Billionaire by Cami Checketts
Sassy meets swoon-worthy in this fast-paced contemporary romance.
Miriam Salisbury escapes to Oregon to avoid a boyfriend who won’t take no for an answer, killing her beloved cat to prove it. When her father sends Clay Browning to protect her, she’s certain he’s lost his mind. As far as she’s concerned Clay’s experience is limited to posing for the camera, charming women, and making fun of her. He’s been teasing her since they were children and she’s never gotten over the way he threw crawdads at her at church picnics.
Clay retired from the military and entered the world of private security. When he gets the call to protect Miriam he’s excited to be around his lifelong crush. As expected, he teases her nonstop and the only thing he takes seriously is her security. He knows she’d never give him a chance and he can’t help but give her a hard time.
After Miriam is dumped in the freezing ocean on a crabbing expedition and Clay saves her from drowning and freezing to death, she takes a second look at her hired gun. But opening up to him is more terrifying than facing her stalker.
As events escalate to a frenzied climax, Miriam and Clay must put aside past grudges in the hope of finding a lasting love for their future.
Purchase your copy here.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *
Praise for series:
“Cami Checketts is an expert at sending a flurry of butterflies straight to the heart! If you love the beach, a dash of suspense, and some toe-curling, swoony romance, then the Billionaire Beach Romance series is definitely for you.” Katie Watkins, Book Reviewer, Katie’s Clean Book Collection
“I LOVE these sweet romances! I love that each of them is a mini escape. You almost feel as though you’ve traveled to a warm destination even though it’s cold and snowy where you live. I love that I can pass them to either my daughter or my grandma and never have any concern about the content. And the characters in these are amazing! I love them all!” Cathy Jeppsen, Book Reviewer, My Book a DayMiriam closed her eyes as Clay’s arms came around her and held her tight.
“Whoa, darling, if I would’ve known I’d get this reception, I would’ve broken into your house years ago.”
Miriam pushed away from him, stumbling from the realization that he hadn’t changed. Clay was a vicious flirt and never took anything seriously. She shoved at his chest, but he didn’t budge. He was real and he was here, and unfortunately for her unsteady nerves, it didn’t look like he was going away. “What are you doing here?” she demanded.
“Your daddy hired me.”
“My daddy … hired you?” She glared at him. “For what? A pinup model?”
He smiled and tilted his head to the side. “I know I look good, but I actually have a few skills in protection too.”
“You do not. All you’ve ever been good at is spending your billions of dollars and getting women to simper at your feet.” She knew he’d been in the military for four years after high school, but after that, he appeared to be the ultimate player. At least, it looked that way in the online photos she’d seen, when she’d googled him. Okay, it was pathetic that she’d googled him, but he was Clay Browning, a.k.a. Miriam’s dream man.
He spread his arms, and she couldn’t help but notice the definition from his forearms and biceps up through his shoulders and chest. Maybe he should find a shirt that wasn’t so … form-fitting. “Hey, I’ve got lots of talents. What can I say?”
Miriam pushed out a huffy breath. “You are not here. This is all some kind of crazy fantasy.”
“I know I’m the stuff fantasies are made of, but I really am here.” He sauntered a step closer, and that spicy cologne made her stomach heat up. “You want to enact some of those fantasies you’ve been having about me?”
She put a hand on his chest to keep him from coming any closer. Those muscles were real. Yikes. She dropped her hand and stepped back. “For one second, just for one, be serious. Why are you here, and how did you get in my house?”
Clay rolled his eyes and folded his arms across his chest. Sheesh. What did he do with biceps that defined? Wrestle bulls?
Focus, Miriam!
“Your daddy called me, said Greg was threatening and stalking you and I had to find you. So I found you, and now I’m here to watch over you.”
Watch over you? She would not survive with this man in the same town, let alone the same house. Her throat was dry and all those daydreams she used to have about him rotated through her mind.
“How did you get in?” she demanded.
“I told you: I have skills.” He smiled and finally admitted, “I was special ops in the Army and I’ve worked in private security since then.”
“You’re being serious now? This isn’t some bull crap line that Clay Browning is giving me?”
He smirked. “You can believe whatever you want, sweetheart.” He took a step closer, and her legs betrayed her by not backing up. “But do believe that I’m here and you I and are going to get real cozy.”
Miriam looked over his gorgeous face. She clenched her trembling hands together and swallowed hard. “I’m not one of your flavors of the week, Clay.”
He leaned in and sniffed her. “Ah. Yeah, I think you are. Vanilla with a hint of chocolate. My favorite flavor this week.”
Author Cami Checketts
Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and reading Bernstein Bears, she gets the chance to write fiction.
Cami graduated from Utah State University with a degree in Exercise Science. She and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn’t snowing, she enjoys swimming, biking, running, and water-skiing.

Also by Cami Checketts

Don’t miss the rest of the Billionaire Beach Romances:
Shadows in the Curtain
Caribbean Rescue
Cozumel Escape
Cancun Getaway
Trusting the Billionaire
Onboard for Love

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/31/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, December 15, 2017

Ruth by H. B. Moore -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Ruth

Author: H. B. Moore

Publisher: Covenant

Published: Dec. 1, 2017

ISBN13: 978-1524404284

Paperback: 250 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Master storyteller and best-selling author H. B. Moore brings to life the biblical account of Ruth as never before in this vivid retelling of her courageous and faithful life. 

Following the death of Ruth's husband, she finds herself at a crossroads. Rather than return to her family and hometown, the young widow makes a remarkable decision: she will remain with her mother-in-law, Naomi, as her caretaker and companion. 
Together, the two widows boldly leave behind the lives they knew in the land of Moab and make their way to Bethlehem, arriving downtrodden and destitute. Though Ruth works day and night to provide for Naomi, it is ultimately through the kindness and generosity of Boaz that the two women find respite from their trials. As Ruth comes to know Boaz, she finds that her broken heart is beginning to heal in ways she could never have imagined. But when a question of inheritance threatens any hope of a life with Boaz, Ruth may have to give up the last piece of her heart in order to secure her future.


My Review

Ruth is another beautiful book written by a talented author. I have always loved Ruth and Naomi's story from the scriptures, so I was looking forward to reading this book. As with every book from this author, the characters are well-developed and their struggles were heartfelt.  Ruth was a wonderful character. The author does a great job of showing the reader what a compassionate person she was. I also loved Naomi.  I enjoyed the POV switches from Ruth and Boaz. Both character's journeys were captivating and well written.  The author took a story from the Bible and made it her own. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.


Schedule:




a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 Days of Clean Romance -- Lucy McConnell


Marrying Miss Kringle: Lux by Lucy McConnell
Christmas Magic is changing and the Kringle Family scrambles to keep up in this fun and entertaining, sweet Christmas romance from Author Lucy McConnell.
A normal electrical substation takes two years to build; but, Lux has 365 days to install one at the North Pole or Christmas Magic will overload the factory and send them back to the Dark Ages.
The one man on the planet with the know-how, the education, and the time to help Lux finish the substation before her Noel deadline, is also the one man who sends sparks through her heart and surges through the power system.
If Lux kisses Matthew Quik—again!—she could blow up Santa’s workshop before she has a chance to save it. If she doesn’t kiss him, she may lose him forever.
Purchase your copy here!
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Praise for the book:
“For getting me in the mood for Christmas, and the romantic aspect of this holiday even before Thanksgiving, I’m happy to give Ms. McConnell the 5 STARS I’ve given her book.”
“Marrying Miss Kringle: Lux is a funny, tender, magical adventure into the sparkles of Christmas Magic and the sparks of human love.”
Author Lucy McConnell
Award-winning author, Lucy McConnell, loves Christmas, romance, chocolate and Elvis.
She started out as an editor at an advertising agency before moving on to teach in the marketing department of the local community college. She loved teaching and often misses the academic environment.
Lucy retired from teaching and began to write articles and sweet romance novels. She has been published in national magazines, newspapers, short story compilations, and she writes cookbooks under the name Christina Dymock.
If she’s not at the computer, you can find her trying to keep up with her husband and four kids on the ski slopes, in a boat, in the kitchen, or on a horse.

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/30/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 14, 2017

12 Days of Clean Romance -- Annette K. Larsen


Just Ella by Annette K. Larsen
Ariella was only looking for a distraction, something to break up the monotony of palace life. What she found was a young man willing to overlook her title and show her a new and vibrant way of life. But when her growing feelings for Gavin spiral out of control and clash with the expectations of her station, she will discover that the consequences of her curiosity are far more severe than she’d imagined.
“I watched in helpless horror as two guards hauled Gavin to his feet and dragged him from the room. My voice was frozen, unable to protest as another guard took hold of my arm, leading me upstairs. From the confines of my room, I stared into the darkness beyond my window, hoping to catch one more glimpse of Gavin. He was gone, and I wondered if he would have been better off if he had never met me.”
* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *
Praise for Just Ella
“This book is so well written it felt just perfect. Honest. I loved it from beginning to end.” -Aimee Brown, Getting Your Read On
“Full of those tender moments you want to go back and read again, plus exciting moments, clever humor, and some suspense as well.” -Jana, The Writer’s Assistant
“Loved every second of this book. It was engaging, eventful, beautifully written and hard to put down. It’s wonderful for all ages!” -Jen, Goodreads
Excerpt
I wanted to have a friendship with this young man, and in order to do so, I knew I had to be honest. “Because of who I am, it’s often difficult to judge a person’s sincerity.” He didn’t say anything, so I went on. “I’ve heard countless flattering words in my life, about anything and everything I do. I never know who to believe.” I tried to look at him, but couldn’t. “It makes friendships difficult; friendship requires sincerity, not flattery.” I glanced up and saw that his expression appeared a bit bewildered, like he had seen something for the first time—something confusing.
“I can understand that,” was his eventual response.
I let out a breath I hadn’t realized I’d been holding. I never shared confidences with anyone.
He walked closer, which surprised me in and of itself, and sat down next to me. I was speechless, and relieved when he started a conversation.
“So,” he said, turning toward me, “tell me the most absurd thing someone has said to you in order to flatter their way into your good graces.”
A smile broke over my face as comments began flying through my head, from the most blundering to the most eloquent compliments. “Oh,” I sighed in amusement, “I don’t know that I could pick just one.”
“So, tell me more than one.”
That was the beginning for us. It was tentative and shaky, but I came back the next day and the day after. We continued to talk and I continued to explore.
This week only Just Ella is $0.99!
Dec. 12 - Dec. 18
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
About Annette
I was born in Utah, but migrated to Arizona, Missouri, and Virginia before settling in Idaho.
Though I dabbled in writing throughout school, being an author seemed like an unattainable dream. It took me seven years to write my first book, Just Ella. During that time, I taught myself how to write a novel. Not the most time effective method, but it gave me an education I wouldn’t have received from a class or a how-to book. Something about the struggle of writing without a formula or rules worked for me.
I write clean romance because I love it. Jane Eyre is the hero of my youth and taught me that clinging to your convictions will be hard, but will bring you more genuine happiness than giving in ever can.
I love chocolate, Into the Woods, ocean waves, my husband, and my five littles. And I love books that leave me with a sigh of contentment.
Keeping Kinley is $0.99 for a limited time!
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/28/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Royal Ball by Sheralyn Pratt

Pimpernel: Royal Ball 

Author: Sheralyn Pratt

Publisher: self

Published: December 10, 2017

ASIN: B0786JMW6M

ebook: 215 pages

FTC FYI: I received a PDF from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Goodreads Summary

Sequel to the award-winning novel, Pimpernel

One man, one night, one dance, and one question…none of which Claire Ramsey sees coming.

She thinks the night is a test—a call to rise above her insecurities and step more fully into her skills. It’s been a year since she learned about the Pimpernel and fell in love with the man of so many masks. Jack’s world is full of high stakes and big players, and Claire wants in.

To her frustration, Jack is dragging his feet on letting her all the way into both his heart and his work. The risk is too high, he says. But Claire is ready to prove him wrong. She’s ready to go all-in.

What Claire doesn’t know is that Jack is no lone wolf, and the world he is shielding her from is much bigger than she has ever imagined.

But one man, one night, one dance, and one question will change all of that in a way Claire never saw coming.


My Review

I could not wait to read another book with some of my all-time favorite characters.  I was especially anxious to find out more about Kali's fate.  This book did not disappoint!  I loved it.  As with all of this author's book, the characters are well developed and the plot is exciting, intense and nail bitingly wonderful.  I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.  If you haven't read Pimpernel, I would recommend reading that one first as Royal Ball is a sequel.  While you're at it, just read the whole Rhea Jensen series too. Jack is wonderfully Jack and I loved getting to see how Claire and Jack feel about each other, the chemistry between them is awesome.  Margot is also wonderful, as is Ren.  There are some intriguing new characters introduced, one especially that still has me guessing.

5 out of 5 stars.

Pick up your free copy of Pimpernel now on Amazon
.

Author links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase links

Amazon 

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites


12 Days of Clean Romance --- Heather B. Moore



The Falling Series

Contemporary Romance Novellas from USA Today bestselling author Heather B. Moore
Falling for Sydney
Sydney has been the perfect friend, the perfect daughter, and Rian checks off on her perfect fiancĂ© list. But when Sydney notices a strange truck parked in her fiancĂ©’s parking spot, she’s in for the surprise of her life. Not only is Rian not who she thought he was, but his brother Jake is about to turn her life upside down.

Falling for Maria
At twenty-six, Maria is holding out for the perfect man to share the rest of her life with. Josh seems to be that man, but after months of dating, their relationship is at a stand-still. Maria plans to nudge Josh forward, but when the company she works for is bought out, her new boss Walker seems determined to change Maria’s idea of the perfect man.

Falling for June
Once a year, June Dawson goes on vacation with her best friends from high school. When she arrives in Maui, she realizes she’s the odd-woman out. With Sydney engaged, and Maria nearly so, June wonders if anyone will ever fall for her. Then June meets Lance, their gorgeous next door bungalow neighbor at the Maui resort, and she’s definitely charmed. But after her recent breakup, June refuses to fall for gorgeous, or charming, again.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Author Heather B. Moore
Heather B. Moore is a USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen historical novels and thrillers, written under pen name H.B. Moore. She writes women’s fiction, romance and inspirational non-fiction under Heather B. Moore. This can all be confusing, so her kids just call her Mom. Heather attended Cairo American College in Egypt, the Anglican School of Jerusalem in Israel, and earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Brigham Young University in Utah. Heather is represented by Jane Dystel of Dystel, Goderich, and Bourret.

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/27/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

12 Days of Clean Romance -- Sheralyn Pratt


Pimpernel: Royal Ball by Sheralyn Pratt
Sequel to the award-winning novel, Pimpernel
One man, one night, one dance, and one question…none of which Claire Ramsey sees coming.
She thinks the night is a test—a call to rise above her insecurities and step more fully into her skills. It’s been a year since she learned about the Pimpernel and fell in love with the man of so many masks. Jack’s world is full of high stakes and big players, and Claire wants in.
To her frustration, Jack is dragging his feet on letting her all the way into both his heart and his work. The risk is too high, he says. But Claire is ready to prove him wrong. She’s ready to go all-in.
What Claire doesn’t know is that Jack is no lone wolf, and the world he is shielding her from is much bigger than she has ever imagined.
But one man, one night, one dance, and one question will change all of that in a way Claire never saw coming.
Purchase  Royal Ball!

Pimpernel is free for a limited time!
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Excerpt
Claire was not alone.
There was a man in the room—a dark-haired man with unreal green eyes and a suit that looked ready for a fashion shoot. The intruder was fit and tall, with a trimmed beard that looked like it had been shaped with laser precision.
Do. Not. Scream. (Again.) Do not freak. Coherency is your only bargaining chip, and only one of you works here.
For the first time that day, Claire wasn’t arguing with her instincts.
“How did you get in here?” she accused.
“Someone left the door open.”
Oh. Yeah. That would be her. She opened the floor. And left it open.
Whoops.
But that still didn’t explain what this man was doing in Margot’s office wearing the most refined suit she’d ever seen. Part of Claire felt reassured that if this man was an assassin, it would be a tidy affair. He wouldn’t want to get blood on his clothes.
“Who are you?” she asked, trying to get a sense for exactly how much trouble she was in.
“I’m the boss’s son.”
That made no sense. “Margot is the boss.”
He seemed to weigh her answer. “Depends on how you look at it. If you’re talking about the business, yes. That’s Margot’s. But if we’re talking about what brought you here tonight, then Jack works for my father. His line has served ours faithfully for many years. We like Jack.”
Wait. What? Claire knew Ren’s family had served Margot’s for generations, but she’d always thought that more as a bodyguard thing. Jack wasn’t a bodyguard. He was a problem-solver for the elite. When people growing into their power started doing things that threatened the safety of civilians, Jack was brought in to—
Something clicked in Claire’s brain.
It wasn’t like her to be the last one to catch on to something, but everything Claire had seen in the past year fit very nicely into this man’s claim. When a job came in, Jack and Margot did it. They didn’t argue over its merit or vet the client. They solved the problem.
Because someone asked—allegedly, this guy’s father.
So either this man was an assassin sent to kill her, or the boss’s son had just caught her red-handed. Whatever the case, running away and pretending this never happened didn’t seem to be an option.
Stand your ground, instinct whispered.
“You need to make a choice before you speak again, Claire,” the green-eyed man said. “You must decide if you’ve just been caught where you ought not to be, or if you’re exactly where you want to be.”
Um, both felt like traps the way he said them.


a Rafflecopter giveaway